Earthpaste – My Natural Toothpaste

Image

I was a little shocked when I took a closer look at our toothpastes. My Elmex toothpaste contains the following ingredients: Aqua, Water, Hydrated Silica, Sorbitol, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Olaflur, Titanium Dioxide, Saccharin, Aroma.

I didn’t like the fluoride part and neighter did I appreciate the word “aroma”. I was even more worried when I discovered that other toothpastes lying around in our bathroom, contain PEG and sulfate.

I don’t want to put toxins into my mouth twice a day. After a little while, I discovered the probably most natural toothpaste on the market: The Earthpaste.

 

Image

 

It contains

  • No SLS (sulfate)
  • No artifical coloring
  • No glycerin
  • No fluoride
  • No foaming agents

 

Fluorides are toxic, that’s why there are restrictions in the use of children’s toothpaste here in the EU (for more details see resources). Also check out my page “Guide for Ingredients to Avoid” where you can read about SLS and PEG.

Ingredients:

  • Purified Water to hydrate the clay into a creamy paste.
  • Food Grade Redmond Clay®, a polishing cleanser with antibacterial properties that has been used for centuries to promote digestive health.
  • Xylitol, a natural sweetener that has been shown to promote healthy teeth.
  • Redmond Real Salt® to enhance the flavor and lend antibacterial properties associated with sea salt.
  • Tea Tree Oil, a natural, essential oil, commonly used to promote healthy skin, supports oral health with excellent anti-viral and anti-fungal properties.
  • Menthol, found in peppermint and wintergreen Earthpaste, leaves your breath fresh and mouth feeling clean.
  • These special oils are used for flavoring & a wide variety of other health benefits listed below.
  • Peppermint will make your breath smell fresh, and it’s widely used to promote stress relief and support digestion.
  • Wintergreen lends a sweet, minty flavor and has been used to promote dental health.
  • Cinnamon brings a familiar, spicy flavor along with its reputation as an antioxidant used to promote healthy immune function.

That’s all. Amazing! The paste looks brown because of the clay. I also own Redmondy Bentonite Clay that you could eath (for detoxification) or use as a clearifying face mask (as I do).

What shocked me first was to read the warning on the tube saying that the product could contain lead, with is also highly toxic. When researching this, I found an explanation of Redmond here. That seemed okay and I can trust a company such as Redmond better than the sneaky other ones like Elmex and so (they don’t even try to explain any ingredients they use…).

My sister, my boyfriend and me have all used the Earthpaste to brush our teeth in the last couple of months (we all chose the peppermint taste). No one has had any special problems with his teeth so far. I think it’s very important to also use a mouthwash after for getting in between your teeth. I make my own after a recipe from the lovely blog Henry Happened (see resources):) We have already repurchased the Earthpaste and will probably use no other toothpaste in the future. If you’re interested in making your own natural toothpaste, Henryhappened has a very simple recipe (here) and Wellnessmama seems to make a good dupe for the Earthpaste (here). But I myself have never tried doing it. Good luck!

 

PS: You can order it from iHerb (here).

 

Resources:

Official website: http://www.earthpaste.com
Funny Earthpaste introduction clip (comparison to normal toothpaste): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GRH8cGWtdpE

Über die Sicherheit von Fluoriden (deutsch – german): http://www.zentrum-der-gesundheit.de/fluorid.html

About the security of fluoride: http://blog.honest.com/tag/fluoride/#.U6LYTl5WlD8

Henry Happened Mouthwash Recipe: http://www.henryhappened.com/minty-clove-mouthwash-breath-spray.html

Leave a Reply

