Honeybee Gardens Truly Natural Mascara Review

Foto 1

 

I finally found a natural, non-toxic mascara that’s affordable and works…

 

I’ve got sensitive, oily eyes and short, rather straight and thin lashes.

Because of that, my all time favorite mascara used to be Maybelline The Rocket Waterproof Mascara.

As I’ve changed to natural products, I’ve tried Physicians Formula Fake Out Mascara, because EcoholicBeauty raved about it (see resources). It was a nice one, but it smudged right after applying and was a huge mess for me, I walked around looking like a panda.

In recommandation of of “No More Dirty Looks”, I decided to try the Honeybee Gardens Truly Natural Mascara in “black magic”.

Foto 2

EWG’s SkinDeep database told me the ingredients are very safe, so I ordered it on iHerb.

What the product contains (Ingredients):

Purified water/aqua, serenoa repens (saw palmetto) fruit extract, hydrogenated glyceryl abietate, brassica campestris, aleurites fordi oil copolymer, copernicia cerifera (carnauba) wax*, glycerin, persea gratissima (avocado) butter, triisostearyl citrate, stearic acid, euphorbia cerifera (candelilla) wax, aloe (barbadensis) leaf extract**, rosemary (rosmarinus officinalis) leaf extract**, xanthan gum, d-alpha tocopherol, sodium hyaluronate, methylcellulose, ethylhexylglycerin, phenethyl alcohol. May Contain/Peut Contenir: mica, iron oxides (CI77499, CI77492)
*certified organic ingredient, ** made with certified organic ingredients

 

To show you how it works for me, I have some pictures for you:

1. No mascara

 

Foto 1-1

2. Lashes curled with my Shu Uemura Eyelash Curler (the best one available, fits very nicely around my eye). You see how that makes a big difference!

Foto 2-1

3. One coat of mascara

Foto 3-1

4. Two coats of mascara

Foto 4

Performance:

The wand is quite long and not made of plastic bristles, as I prefer it. But it’s okay.

The lashes can clump a little, but not in a way you can’t deal with.

The mascara is rather lenghtening, than thickening. What I really like is the way it stays on for pretty much all day. It doesn’t really smudge. I also powder my under eye area, that helps with keeping the mascara where it belongs 😉

Foto 3

I really like this mascara. It’s not as well performing as Maybelline The Rocket Waterproof, but instead of being toxic, it’s very clean and that suits my sensitive eyes area (I found that the Physicians Formula one was way more irritating). I have repurchased it, it works decently for me, it doesn’t smudge and is very cheap compared to a lot of other natural mascaras.

If you’re switching, too, and like to order it from iHerb (the cheapest place to get the mascara, also for international custumers), you can use my code LHN527 and get a discount of 5-10 $ on your first order. You can do so here.

 

Resources:

Honeybee Gardens Truly Natural Mascara: http://honeybeegardens.com/truly-natural-mascara/

Skin Deep rating: http://www.ewg.org/skindeep/product/515702/Honeybee_Gardens_Truly_Natural_Mascara/

No More Dirty Looks mentioning the mascara: http://nomoredirtylooks.com/2013/09/anyone-having-a-love-affair-with-a-certain-mascara/

On iHerb: http://www.iherb.com/Honeybee-Gardens-Truly-Natural-Mascara-Black-Magic-0-2-fl-oz-6-ml/25054

Physicians Formula: http://www.physiciansformula.com/en-us/productdetail/eyes/mascara/07884.html

Ecoholic Beauty First Impression Video (of the Physicians Formula Mascara): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ufnblRhz6E

One thought on “Honeybee Gardens Truly Natural Mascara Review

  1. Pingback: My first iHerb haul | buy fair stuff

Leave a Reply

